Student Dancemakers Debut Choreography

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On November 16th and 17th, over thirty Slippery Rock University dance majors will present original choreography at the Slippery Rock University Dance Theatre Adjudication Concert.

After a lengthy audition process and many hours of rehearsals, SRU dancers are ready perform group pieces, solos, and duets at the SRUDT Adjudication Concerts. Student choreographers found inspiration for their work from themes such as multiple personalities, fear, time, and individuality. At the Adjudication Concert, the dance department faculty will score each piece on a 100-point scale. If a piece scores high enough, it will be performed again in the Fall Concert or Winter Concert.

Cassidy Negri, a senior choreographer enjoys the challenge of choreographing for SRUDT. To describe her piece based on individualism, Negri says, “My creative process uses the concepts of collaboration and layering. I have had my cast learn short phrases as well as choreograph small solos that I am using throughout my piece. I choreographed about half of my movement to a speech for inspiration and to exemplify my concept to my dancers before setting the movement to a piece of movement and transposing the material.”

Negri encourages SRU students to attend the Adjudication concert because “Slippery Rock University is based in tradition, class affinity, and school spirit. Everyone should come out and support each other and all things the school does!”    

The SRUDT Adjudication Concerts will be performed on Thursday, November 16th at 7:00 and 9:00 PM, and Friday, November 17th at 5:00 and 7:30 PM at the West Gym Dance Studio.

 

by Madeline McKissick, SRU 2020, BS, Professional Writing; BA, Dance

 

Leave a comment